Real Estate License Reciprocity

real estate license reciprocity

Although there is no such thing as a “national real estate license” in the United States, many states have agreements with each other that accomplish a similar outcome. We refer to it as real estate license reciprocity or having a reciprocal real estate license.

This is a list of all the US states and their real estate license reciprocity status (updated spring 2017):

Alabama: Reciprocity with most states, requires a 6-hour class.
Alaska: Reciprocity with any other state if the license has been held for a year or more and the person passes the Alaska state portion of the real estate exam.
Arizona: No reciprocity.
Arkansas: Reciprocity with Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Washington and West Virginia.
California: No reciprocity.
Colorado: All 50 states with limited exam required.
Connecticut: Reciprocity with Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma and Rhode Island.
Delaware: Reciprocity with all states after passing Delaware state law exam or some verifiable minimum production/experience requirements.
Florida: Reciprocity with Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, and Nebraska after passing the Florida law portion of the real estate exam.
Georgia: Reciprocity with all states assuming satisfactory background and license history checks.
Hawaii: No reciprocity.
Idaho: Reciprocity with Montana, Oregon and Wyoming.
Illinois: Reciprocity with Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wisconsin.
Indiana: Reciprocity with Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Florida, Iowa, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma and Rhode Island.
Iowa: Reciprocity with Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Tennessee, and West Virginia.
Kansas: Reciprocity with other states after waiver is successfully processed.
Kentucky: Reciprocity with all others states after passing the Kentucky law portion of the state exam.
Louisiana: Reciprocity with Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Iowa, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania.
Maine: Reciprocity with all other states upon passing the Maine law portion of the state exam.
Maryland: Reciprocity with Pennsylvania and Oklahoma. All other states require successful passing of the Maryland state portion of the real estate exam.
Massachusetts: Full reciprocity with Connecticut, Rhode Island, West Virginia, Nebraska, Iowa, Tennessee, Mississippi, Colorado, Georgia, Pennsylvania and New Mexico. A few other states have reciprocal license agreements with Massachusetts, but with extra experience and examination requirements.
Michigan: No reciprocity.
Minnesota: Reciprocity with Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wisconsin.
Mississippi: Varies, and requires a call to the Mississippi Real Estate Commission for the current standing.
Missouri: Reciprocity with other states after passing the Missouri portion of the real estate exam.
Montana: Reciprocity with Alberta, Canada.
Nebraska: Reciprocity with various states and the requirements are across the board. The detailed list of requirements can be found here.
Nevada: Salesperson reciprocity: Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Texas, Utah, West Virginia. Broker reciprocity (in addition to the salesperson reciprocity list): California, Connecticut, Washington DC, Florida, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Virginia.
New Hampshire: Reciprocity with Massachusetts, Maine, Vermont and Florida.
New Jersey: No reciprocity.
New Mexico: Reciprocity with Georgia, Louisiana and Massachusetts.
New York: Reciprocity with Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia,Massachusetts, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania and West Virginia.
North Carolina: Reciprocity with Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Louisiana,Mississippi, Nebraska, South Carolina, Tennessee and West Virginia.
North Dakota: Reciprocity with Georgia, Iowa and Minnesota.
Ohio: Reciprocity with Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Oklahoma: Real estate reciprocity in Oklahoma is referred to as a “non-resident agreement.” The following states have non-resident agreements with Oklahoma: Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and West Virginia.
Oregon: Reciprocity with Alabama, Alberta, Georgia, Nebraska and South Dakota.
Pennsylvania: Reciprocity with Arkansas, Georgia and Louisiana.
Rhode Island: Reciprocity with Connecticut and Massachusetts.
South Carolina: Reciprocity with North Carolina, Georgia, Kentucky and West Virginia.
South Dakota: No reciprocity.
Tennessee: Reciprocity with Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi and New Mexico.
Texas: No reciprocity.
Utah: Reciprocity with Georgia, Mississippi and Alberta, Canada.
Vermont: No reciprocity.
Virginia: Reciprocity with other states provided applicant has been active in the real estate business during 24 of the previous 36 months.
Washington: Reciprocity with other states based on recent license activity and submission of the proper forms.
West Virginia: Reciprocity with Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Iowa, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico and South Carolina.
Wisconsin: Reciprocity with other states with some Wisconsin state real estate license law testing.
Wyoming: No reciprocity.

If you have questions about real estate license reciprocity in your state that weren’t answered here, please contact us and we’ll get back to you ASAP.

If you have an update for our real estate license reciprocity status for your state, please let us know. The real estate laws in each state are constantly changing. We do our best to keep up with them, but sometimes we miss some updates.